Symptom Recital

I do not like my state of mind;
I’m bitter, querulous, unkind.
I hate my legs, I hate my hands,
I do not yearn for lovelier lands.
I dread the dawn’s recurrent light;
I hate to go to bed at night.
I snoot at simple, earnest folk.
I cannot take the gentlest joke.
I find no peace in paint or type.
My world is but a lot of tripe.
I’m disillusioned, empty-breasted.
For what I think, I’d be arrested.
I am not sick, I am not well.
My quondam dreams are shot to hell.
My soul is crushed, my spirit sore;
I do not like me any more.
I cavil, quarrel, grumble, grouse.
I ponder on the narrow house.
I shudder at the thought of men….
I’m due to fall in love again.

Recital de Sintomas

Não gosto do meu jeito de ser;
Sou amarga, irritante, a bel-prazer.
Odeio minhas pernas, odeio minhas mãos,
Não anseio por novos chãos.
Temo a luz do dia ao clarear;
Odeio ir para a cama me deitar.
Distrato as pessoas simples, servis.
Não recebo bem piadas gentis.
Escrevendo não encontro paz;
Minha vida é fugaz.
Estou desiludida, indefesa.
Pelo que penso seria presa.
Não estou doente, não estou bem.
Meu sonho foi mandado pro além.
Minha alma está destroçada, meu espírito doente;
Não gosto mais de mim ultimamente.
Reclamo, protesto, brigo.
Na casa apertada reflito.
Tremo com os pensamentos do povo…
Estou para me apaixonar de novo.

Symptom Recital de Dorothy Parker, traduzida por Giselle Hache.

Deixe um comentário

